Responding to an Artwork

Below is a self-portrait by Francis Bacon. I chose this painting from a selection due to my personal interest in the artist. I also find his figurative work very interesting. In the painting, like many, I am drawn to the abstractness of this facial features. I feel that this year I’m being drawn to the abstract elements in many artists work and have enjoyed responding to them.

francis-bacon

Below are images of my response to this piece of art work. I have taken the human form and destructed it. I’ve taken apart the body to look deeper in to its construction and to create a more abstract approach. I have used string to represent the veins and how they tie the body together. The material to show the muscles, a pipe to show the spine and obviously a manikin for the form. I’ve kept the idea of having a chair in the focal point of the image. This was great for practical reasons as well for keeping the structure in place and supporting it. I think this piece was a success as it made the viewer and also myself think about taking the original painting apart and bringing new ideas to the table. For example people were connecting the chair leg and the manikins leg. Having one leg to stand on and how in the original paining he seems quite relaxed sitting. Is this a change due to modern day life and how the modern day person feels?

 

Leave a comment